Sarah J Maas – House of Earth and Blood – Crescent City – Book Review

So many things that are amazing in this book.

From domestic drama to political drama to romance to psychological thriller all wrapped up in a lengthy adventure.

I have read a couple of Sarah J novels this year and she always has some or other extremely clever, want-to-have, element in her books. In this book I decided I really want a Fire Sprite for Christmas. Not only do you have a best friend, but you also have the luxury of someone taking care of those bookshelves, which is a must have for any book collector, librarian, and book lover.  

I really, really enjoy these adult novels that seem to be a mixture of Harry Potter meets Mortal Instruments meets True Blood or whatever level of romance you like.

Sarah really has an amazing talent when it comes to crafting her characters, all well-formed, very individual, outspoken, and witty.

Does some of the romance scenes make me cringe in instances, yes. Do I get annoyed with the brutal swearing on occasion, yes? Does she overindulge in muscular men, yes – but the adventure of these well-crafted worlds honestly, makes you forgive the annoying bits without much thought. I am pretty sure female followers on these books by far outweigh the men, and that’s okay. It’s the perfect time out from reality, which I am sure to indulge in as her stories continue to unfold.

Leave a comment